metamorphosis

20140808_104020

i watched you sleeping
This morning.
Bathed in sunlight
Quietly unaware
Of me.

It seems as though
You have grown so suddenly

And you have shucked your cocoon.

yet
I still hear
Your small cry
Piercing the silence
In the birthing room
The first time we met.
Fresh blood in your red curls,
Your head on my thin blue gown
Listened to the familiar music of my heart.
-your sky blue eyes looked up at me.

I rocked you gently
In my arms
And you settled into me
Becoming peaceful.
it was as if you knew me
Already
A knowing
That you sprung from me
And that my heart
Was your first lullaby

13  summers have passed
And your sleepy head still wears a hint of red
And you are the same
Yet different.
Older

Changing.

Your quiet metamorphosis

Into

Who you are

And who you will become. -J. Hamilton

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “metamorphosis

  1. Pingback: your 13th birthday | Le cose piu belle (the most beautiful things)

Leave a Reply

